30.

I wasn’t afraid to turn 30. Not really.

But growing up, I always had an idea of what 3o looked like. (Probably more like what my Pinterest board looks like!)

But 30 didn’t feel different. I’m pretty sure I’m still not a grown up. The only adult-ish things I’m really good at doing is making super expensive wish lists of house hold things. (laundry pedestals, farmhouse table, more stain resistant couches…)

But let’s be real here. I’m sure you all want to see the behind the scenes of my 30th birthday, but I’m just going to show you the more glamorous side. No pictures of the dirty dishes I finally did this morning. No pictures of the house that is still in a desperate state.

Heck, I’m just going to share pictures of 2 days before my birthday when we got dressed up and went out. I didn’t take a single picture on my actual birthday.

Things change, y’all.

For me, 30 meant pumping so I could be baby free for the evening.

For me, 30 meant arranging for someone to watch said baby and her big brother. Dang, we have some good friends.

30 meant trying a martini again and deciding I still didn’t like it.

30 meant dinner and flamenco watching, then off to a cigar shop for a hand rolled sweet tipped smoky thing, coffee, and dominoes.

For me, 30 meant a peaceful evening with fabulous company and great conversations!

And ultimately, 30 meant not staying out all night, walking inside barefoot with a Minion backpack because I still can’t wear heels for a whole evening, and getting everyone in bed. (And pumping again, but I didn’t take a picture of that. You are welcome)

30 looked a lot different than 20, I’ll be the first to say that. But it was great.

30 is going to bring lots of adventure.

I’m going to embrace the bittersweetness of what a move to a new duty station means. I’m going to cherish the family away from family that has loved me so well these past couple years. I’m going to stay checked in here with my people and soak up the very last drop of their company.

I can’t wait to find out where we are going, and start to plan out our year.

30, just do it.

Leave a Reply

